Book Return Information & Library Hours: Library Information

Information about library services during the pandemic shutdown

Check here for eTextbooks

For Bookstore Textbook Returns click here

short video explaining Library services for Fall 2020

Library Instruction-

Fall 2020 Library Instruction

Reference Chat Hours -

Monday - Thursday 9am - 8pm

Friday 9am- 5pm

 

Many New Jersey libraries are offer free outside of their facilities.

Take a look at this WiFi locator map from LibraryLinkNJ-

https://ilovenjlibraries.org/wi-fi-locator/

Downloadable EbooksLibby log from OverDrive

Contingency Procedures for the Library
Due to the CoronaVirus (Covid-19), BCC library is closed to students but most of our services are available online. 
We will provide an update for reopening as soon as we have more information regarding a date. 
Most online library services are still available.

Library materials may be returned to the Paramus campus library book drops which are located outside the South entrance near Public Safety and outside the Student Center entrance. Returns might take a while to register in your account due to staff limitations and material quarantine.

Return/Renew Library Materials: We have renewed and extended due dates for all library and interlibrary loan materials through September 30, 2020. Fines & fees have been suspended, with the exception of lost library book fees.

To return library books through mail/UPS/FedEx, use address:
Sidney Silverman Library
Bergen Community College
400 Paramus Rd
Paramus.NJ 07652
Attention: Circulation Department

COVID-19 Library Services

CONTACTLESS PICKUP SERVICE - Begins September 28

Paramus Library circulating collections will be available for Contactless Pickup service. You can request materials using the Paramus Library Requests for Contactless Pickup form. Turnaround time is usually 3 business days, but may be extended due to material quarantine. You'll receive an email or phone call when your materials are ready for pickup, with instructions for pickup date, time, and location.

Pickup is currently available only at the Paramus campus location with pickup windows Tuesday noon-2pm or Thursdays noon-2pm. When you come to pick up your materials, please bring your Bergen ID. You must wear a face covering, maintain social distancing, and follow guidelines provided by the College.

  • Access to non-circulating and special collections is currently unavailable.
  • Meadowlands campus library remains closed and collections unavailable.
  • Reserve collection materials are ineligible for the contactless pickup service.

Contactless Pickup service is limited to Bergen faculty, staff, and students. Contact us if you have questions about your eligibility.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN & INTERCAMPUS BOOK DELIVERY

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is limited to article requests only. Request for ILL articles can be submitted using the ILL article/Chapters Request form.  You may experience longer delays than usual as our network of partner libraries are in various stages of reopening. Once your article is ready, you will receive an email with electronic access to your article.

  • ILL book requests service is suspended until further notice.
  • Intercampus Book Delivery between Paramus and Meadowlands campus libraries remains suspended.

Interlibrary loan items have been extended due to the pandemic. To review what you have out, check My Library Account.

DOCUMENT DELIVERY

Current Bergen students, faculty, and staff may request scanning of articles and limited book chapters from our print collections and print-only journals from the Paramus campus library.  Request can be submitted through the Document Delivery Request form.

Turnaround time is usually 3 business days, but may be extended due to material quarantine. Once your article is ready, you will receive an email with electronic access to your article.

  • Requests for scanning from e-journals or e-book formats will not be accepted.
  • Meadowlands campus library remains closed and collections unavailable.
  • Reserve collection materials are ineligible for document delivery service.

FACULTY RESERVE TEXTBOOK SCANNING 

During the pandemic the library will be closed and the Reserve Collection unavailable. Many print textbooks are not available for purchase by libraries as e-books, although available for purchase for individual use. The library encourages instructors to use materials in their possession, readily available online or available electronically through the library catalog.

Librarians can assist instructors in locating textbooks alternative through open educational resources (OER) and existing library e-resources. For assistance in finding textbook alternatives, contact your Subject Liaison librarian.

Instructors who do not have a copy of the textbook for the start of the semester may request scanning services. Requests can be submitted through the Faculty Reserve Textbook Scanning Request form. Turnaround time is usually 3 business days, but may be extended due to material quarantine. Scans will be sent to instructor’s Bergen email.

  • Requests for scanning from e-journals or e-book formats will not be accepted.
  • Faculty should contact Department for follow-up on textbook status.

For questions regarding Reserve textbook scanning, contact the Library Service Desk at circulation@bergen.edu.

MEDIA SERVICES

Media Services will provide limited services. 

FACULTY ONLY: Paramus Reserve DVD collections and circulating DVD collections for classroom use are available for contactless pick up. Requests can be submitted through the Media Services Request form

Some small media equipment is available for borrowing, please contact Media Services for details, by email: av@bergen.edu, or phone: 201-447-7972.

© 2010 Sidney Silverman Library
Bergen Community College
400 Paramus Road, Paramus, NJ 07652
201-447-7436