LibGuides: Cognitive Biases: Articles

Some Keywords to Search for Specific Cognitive Biases

For example, specific cognitive bias: search term "Bystander Effect"

Terms to add:

Bystander Effect AND Studies
Bystander Effect AND Cognitive bias
Bystander Effect AND Bias
Bystander effect AND Experiment
Bystander Effect AND History
Bystander Effect AND Cases
Bystander Effect AND Origin

What is the difference between a magazine and a journal?

"Magazine" is often used to describe a popular publication like Time or People.

“Journal” is used to describe a scholarly work that is written by experts. Journal articles tend to be longer and provide extensive citations to additional research.

Subject Databases

Philosopher's Index
Scholarly articles in the field of philosophy and religion. Use this database to search for specific cognitive origins and to find additional research studies and experiments.

Philosophy Essentials Collection This link opens in a new window
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles on psychology topics. Use this database to find specific cognitive biases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Good database for scholarly articles.
Science Direct College Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in the fields of science, psychology and technology among others. Search for specific cognitive biases.
Criminal Justice Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, trade publication and crime reports in all areas of criminal justice.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and government documents covering all areas of education.

General Databases

Library databases are the best sources of articles from magazines, newspapers and journals. On the Library home page, go to Find Articles/Electronic Resources and use a Frequently Used Database to find articles on general topics. Lexis Nexis is best for newspaper articles. Search using keywords combined with "and", eg. Socrates and Virture. Article databases do not always provide the whole article, but you can usually limit what you get to full text (complete) articles.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
General database good for all subject areas. Contains newspaper, magazine and scholarly journal articles.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Specialized encyclopedias on a range of topics. Great for detailed overviews of people, eras, places and other topics.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Contains overviews and pro/con essays on current controversial issues. Also includes recent newspaper, magazine, and journal articles.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Pro and con essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Also contains newspaper and magazine articles.

Off Campus Access

Your valid Bergen Community College ID allows you to use article databases, e-books or watch videos right on your computer, tablet or handheld device!