This annotated directory is organized into various categories for easy access to the information. Each section resources such as indexes & directories, reference desk, libraries, societies & associations.
Access to Insight is an Internet website dedicated to providing accurate, reliable, and useful information concerning the practice and study of Theravada Buddhism, as it has been handed down to us through both the written word of the Pali canon and the living example of the Sangha.
the ARDA allows you to interactively explore the highest quality data on American and international religion using online features for generating national profiles, GIS maps, church membership overviews, denominational heritage trees, tables, charts, and other reports. Over 500 surveys and other data collections are available for online preview and virtually all can be downloaded free of charge.
This section is an overview of the Buddhist Scriptures by Ven. Sayadaw U Sobhana, with an article on "Collecting the Tipitaka" which is the history of the first rehearsal of the Tipitaka. Included is an explanation of the Tibetan Canon and the Chinese Tripitaka which is composed mainly of Mahayana scriptures of the second 500 years, yet translations were not restricted to scriptures of this middle period. The Chinese Tripitaka also possesses a wealth of works of early Buddhism as a good portion of the later productions.
"Codex Sinaiticus is one of the most important books in the world. Handwritten well over 1600 years ago, the manuscript contains the Christian Bible in Greek, including the oldest complete copy of the New Testament. Its heavily corrected text is of outstanding importance for the history of the Bible... The Codex Sinaiticus Project is an international collaboration to reunite the entire manuscript in digital form..."
Covers "the history of superstition and witchcraft persecution in Europe. It documents the earliest and the latest manifestations of the belief in witchcraft as well as its geographical boundaries, and elaborates this history with works on canon law, the Inquisition, torture, demonology, trial testimony, and narratives. Most importantly, the collection focuses on witchcraft not as folklore or anthropology, but as theology and as religious heresy."
A comprehensive annotated list of various religion resources, with links to the classics & ancient world, Asian resources, and electronic texts. Searchable.
This directory of non-Christian and non-Jewish religious centers in the United States contains addresses and phone numbers of over 4,000 Buddhist, Hindu, Jain, and Zoroastrian temples; Baha'i and Pagan centers; Islamic centers and Masajid; Sikh Gurdwaras; and Tao centers and temples. Searchable.
Mythology, folklore, mysticism, and more. Contains well over 4,000 definitions of gods and goddesses, supernatural beings and legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world. Some of the mythologies included are: Chinese, Etruscan, Greek, Latvian, Native American, Norse, Persian, and Roman. Searchable.
This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language
This is a database of full-text resources designed "to assist professors, scholars and general 'seekers' who are interested in exploring religious issues," this site aims "to develop an extensive library of hundreds of entries, presenting many different points of view, but all written from the perspective of sound scholarship."
VoS: Religious Studies includes links to religious sites, journals, sociologists, journals and sacred texts. It is part of the Voice of the Shuttle site which is dedicated to academic research.
A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion: syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, software, etc.
"This collection includes lists of archaeological sites that have been surveyed or excavated since Israel occupied the West Bank and East Jerusalem in 1967."
Internet Public Library
An alternative to a search engine to find quality Websites on your subject of interest.
