General article databases such as Academic Search Premier may provide you with the articles you need.
"Magazine" is often used to describe a popular publication like Time or People.
“Journal” is used to describe a scholarly work that is written by experts. Journal articles tend to be longer and provide extensive citations to additional research.
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, is often the best source of journal articles on topics in the health professions. To link to the CINAHL database, go to "Find Articles/Electronic Resources" and look on the "Full List of Databases" on the Library home page. (If you are off campus you will be asked for your last name and your 7 digit Bergen ID number.)
Keyword searching works well but combine keywords with "and" . If you are searching for treatments for osteoporosis, type: osteoporosis and treatment (or osteoporosis and some specific treatment) in the search box. Below the search box there are many options for limiting your search. Some of the citations on the Result List will have linked full text articles, many will not. To see if the full article is available, click on "Search for Full Text." This may take you to a link to the full article in a different database.
PubMed is an excellent free database indexing journals in medicine, nursing, allied health, dentistry, and veterinary medicine. A much larger database than CINAHL, it includes many citations to articles not in English, and does not have as many links to full text as CINAHL does.
Preformulated searches on a variety of topics are listed under "Topic-specific Queries" on the list of PubMed tools.
To see if the Library has a specific journal or magazine go to the Journal Titles List . If the journal you are looking for is available in one of our databases you will be able to link to it. Some journals we have only in print format.
Google Scholar searches a wide range of scholarly articles and books. Links appear next to articles available at BCC. Use Advanced Search mode for best results.