Health Reference Center
- Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new windowContains overviews and definitions for health-related topics, including: conditions and diseases, mental health, health and wellness, and body systems.
What is the difference between a magazine and a journal?
"Magazine" is often used to describe a popular publication like Time or People.
“Journal” is used to describe a scholarly work that is written by experts. Journal articles tend to be longer and provide extensive citations to additional research.
Journal Titles List
To see if the Library has a specific journal or magazine go to the Journal Titles List . If the journal you are looking for is available in one of our databases you will be able to link to it. Some journals we have only in print format.
Databases for Journal Articles
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window(1982 - present) Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Indexes over 1800 journals, mostly in English, and dissertations, books and audiovisual materials. Click on "CHOOSE DATABASES" link above search box. Check both CINAHL and ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER to expand search results.
- Academic Search PremierMulti-disciplinary full text database. This scholarly collection offers information in: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. The majority of full text titles are available in PDF, or scanned-in-color. **
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowGeneral database good for all subjects. Find newspaper, magazine and scholarly journal articles.
- PubMed(1950s-present) Indexes over 4,800 journals from all over the world, in medicine, nursing, allied health, veterinary medicine and related fields. Abstracts are usually provided. MEDLINE is the largest PubMed database.
- Science DirectIndex and full text database. Covers 24 fields of science, medicine, technology and the social sciences, including psychology. **
Respiratory Therapy -- Journal Assignment
Respiratory Care is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes research articles.
AARC Times Magazine access requires login. It may be free with student membership. Ask your professor about how to join.
AARC Times is a Professional Magazine that is published and edited by AARC. It contains current news, announcements and articles of interest to Respiratory Therapists, Students and Educators.
Google Scholar - Advanced Search
TRY GOOGLE SCHOLAR - scholar.google.com
- Use the "advanced scholar search" by clicking on the down arrow on the right side of the search box.
- Follow links in Google Scholar to "FULL-Text @ Bergen CC"
- TO SET UP "FULL-Text @ Bergen CC" message on your computer:
- Click on the "gear" icon on the upper right side of the Google Scholar entry screen.
- Click on the "Library Links" button on the left side of the screen.
- Type "Bergen Community College" in the search box and and search.
- Check off all four Bergen Community College results.
- Click on SAVE.