LibGuides: BIO-130 People-Plant Relationships: Substance Project

Project Details

For this project, you can go back and use some of the same resources that you used in the first assignment. Now, you'll be gathering information from the articles and books in order to discuss your substance and how it interacts with the human body.

Make sure you keep the specific questions you are being asked in mind as you search for the answers.

Generate your list of sources (citations) as you are collecting information, so that you are sure you don't miss any.

Articles

Articles can be found through a number of different sources. Check with your professor to see if you have specific requirements, like using a scholarly journal vs. a webpage.

Recommended	Why use it?
AccessScience AccessScience	Topic articles. Includes diagrams and some images. Citations can be generated by the database.
Science Online	Topic articles and images. Citations can be generated by the database.
Health Reference Center	Articles and images on human body and related issues. Citations can be generated by the database.
Academic Search Premier	Article database covering all topics. Can find magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Citations can be generated by the database.
Science Direct	Scholarly journal articles.
The Merck Index	Information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics	Substance data
Food, Drink & Nutrition Essentials Collection	E-books on nutrition will be helpful.
Salem E-book on Nutrition	E-book

Web searching can also provide articles. Be thoughtful about your selections--your professor may have restricted your options (i.e. use .EDU, .GOV, or .ORG sites; no Wikipedia; etc.). Here are a few websites you should consider using:

U.S. Dept. of Agriculture - FoodData Central	Nutrient profile search from U.S. government
U.S. National Library of Medicine - MedlinePlus	Health/Medical website from U.S. government
U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, National Agriculture Library - Food and Nutrition Information Center	"the FNIC website contains over 2500 links to current and reliable nutrition information"
U.S. National Library of Medicine - PubMed	Search for journals discussing medical topics

I already have a citation, what's the trick to finding the article?

To find out if the Library subscribes to a specific magazine, newspaper or journal, go to the Journals A-Z list.

Here's a citation:

Dubilier, N., McFall-Ngai, M., & Zhao, L. (2015). Microbiology: Create a global microbiome effort. Nature, 526(7575), 631-634. doi:10.1038/526631a

This citation refers to the journal Nature. See if you can locate Nature on the Journals A-Z list. If you have multiple matching links, make sure you check the available dates. Coverage is not the same in all of the article databases!

What is the difference between a magazine and a journal?

"Magazine" is often used to describe a popular publication like Time or People.

“Journal” is used to describe a scholarly work that is written by experts. Journal articles tend to be longer and provide extensive citations to additional research.

Books

To be successful in locating books at the library, you will need to focus on the Library of Congress "call number" for the books. Books on the same topic are often found together, but to know where to look you will need to search the online catalog or walk to the section and browse. Some areas are large, so if you are looking for a specific book, start your search on the computer.