ARTstor is a curated collection of over 300,000 images and their information with the tools to actively use the images.
Enter the ARTstor digital library and create a free account for yourself. Then you will be able to save images, create presentations and add notes.
Images
We recommend Artstor for your images but there are other places on the free web which you can look at-
- Digital Public Library Images a collection of millions of cultural heritage objects from libraries, archives, and museums across the country, for images.
- Google Art Project Fine art images from museums around the world
- The Louvre The Collections database consists of entries for more than 480,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix. Updated on a daily basis, it is the result of the continuous research and documentation efforts carried out by teams of experts from both museums.
- The Met More than 375,000 images from The Metropolitan Museum of Art
- New York Public Library Digital Collections Images scanned from the collections and archives of NYPL
- Victoria and Albert Museum images of fine and decorative arts from the V&A Museum, licensed for educational use.
- The Greats Free illustrations from great artists to change the world
Get Organized!
Add the browser extension and use PowerNotes to help with organization, citations and note taking.
It's on us!
Search the Library
Once you've adopted your work of art and found a good quality image. It's time to start your research!
Articles in periodicals will provide the most up-to-date information on your topic.
To locate only articles, use Academic Search Premier or ProQuest Research Library for general information.
Newspapers may also be a good source to consider.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Begin your search at the Library Homepage or use the search box below.
A subject search will help to narrow down broad or general topics. For example- American artists
Keyword is useful when you want to combine terms. For example- looting and art
Select Bergen Community College on the left side, to find books available in our library.
From the search results page, use the format box on the left to narrow the list to books and/or e-books.
Try these sources for historical context about your artist and your chosen work-
- Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
- American History Online This link opens in a new window
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
- Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
You found a book or article that isn't in the BCC library and you really need it. Now what?
Use our Inter-Library Loan request form and have the the item delivered to you.
Fill out all the information you have to help us get the article or book for you as soon as possible.
Your assignment asks for a short biography of the author for each of your sources. How do find do that?
Look closely at your articles and books. sometimes background information is included within the article or on the jacket of the book.
Other times, it's a treasure hunt!
Look for clues within the search result to help you find more information about the author-
- If the author is affiliated with a college or university, check out the institution's website
- If the source is something like the New York Times or Time magazine, search the website for the author name
- Try an internet search of the author name, then find the author's personal or institutional webpage
If your article has no author, move on to another article.
Google....because you know you want to!
If Google is your go to for research, think smarter and use Google Scholar.
In the settings, you can save your favorite libraries- Bergen Community College- and Google will show you if the articles you found are available through any of the library databases. Clicking on the "Full Text @ Bergen CC" link will bring you to the article in a library database
Here is a brief video that walks you through the steps- Searching Google Scholar
