WWD Off Campus Access
Off campus access for Bergen students is available if you sign up for an account. You will get free daily news and information from WWD.
- click on the logo above.
- Fill in the information for a user account. You must use your Bergen email address. Then click “Sign Up”
- Users will receive an email verification request. You MUST validate their email to complete the account creation process.
Bergen students can subscribe to the New York Times for free-
Follow the steps here for access to NYTimes.com
Dr. Annemarie Roscello
Contact:
Information Literacy Facilitator
Sidney Silverman Library
Bergen Community College
Sidney Silverman Library
Bergen Community College
201-612-5569
Subjects: ALP/ESL
Search the Library
The following databases will be most useful for information about the fashion industry. Articles in periodicals will provide the most up-to-date information on your topic.
-
Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new windowThe Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
-
Biography In Context This link opens in a new windowLooking for info on designers? Try a search by last name in the biography database.
-
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowGeneral database good for all subject areas. Contains newspaper, magazine and scholarly journal articles.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to millions of articles and images. Helpful for historical fashion images.
-
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowUse this resource for information on popular culture, business and more
-
New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis is the New York Times from 1980 to the present
-
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new windowSearch The New York Times going back to the first issue in 1851. Contains full page views with images.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowContains statistical data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas. Easy to download graphs and charts for powerpoint presentations.
-
Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowFind basic information on U.S. and Canadian businesses and residents.
-
ABI/Inform Global This link opens in a new window800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more
-
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new windowJournal and magazine articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
-
Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowLocal business news, including journals and newspapers from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
-
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new windowContains resources for small business owners, including newspaper and magazine articles, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books.
-
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowBusiness-focused daily newspaper going back to 1984 (full-text).
Selected Documentary films about Fashion and the Fashion Industry-
- The Price of Cheap- (2022) Stories of modern slaves in textile manufacturing supply chains.
- The Secret Life of Your Clothes- (2016) Thousands of tons of clothes are given to charities each year. Learn what happens to them
- The True Cost- (2015) Who really pays for fast fashion?
- Working Women of the World - (2000) Follow the relocation of garment production from Western countries to nations such as Indonesia, the Philippines, and Turkey, where low wages are the rule and employee rights are nonexistent
- Enter a keyword search. The results list will show you materials available in the BCC library.
- From the search results page, use the format box on the left to narrow the list to ebooks or evideos.
- Under Held by library, select Libraries worldwide if you want to find something not available in our library. You will have to place a request through Interlibrary Loan to get materials from this list.
University of Fashion is an online fashion design library with more than 500 lessons taught by design professionals.
We subscribe to UF so you don't have to. Ask your FAB professor for account set up and access information.
Clothing
-
Fashion and Its Social Agendas
by
It has long been said that clothes make the man (or woman), but is it still true today? If so, how has the information clothes convey changed over the years? Using a wide range of historical and contemporary materials, Diana Crane demonstrates how the social significance of clothing has been transformed. Crane compares nineteenth-century societies--France and the United States--where social class was the most salient aspect of social identity signified in clothing with late twentieth-century America, where lifestyle, gender, sexual orientation, age, and ethnicity are more meaningful to individuals in constructing their wardrobes. Today, clothes worn at work signify social class, but leisure clothes convey meanings ranging from trite to political. In today's multicode societies, clothes inhibit as well as facilitate communication between highly fragmented social groups. Crane extends her comparison by showing how nineteenth-century French designers created fashions that suited lifestyles of Paris elites but that were also widely adopted outside France. By contrast, today's designers operate in a global marketplace, shaped by television, film, and popular music. No longer confined to elites, trendsetters are drawn from many social groups, and most trends have short trajectories. To assess the impact of fashion on women, Crane uses voices of college-aged and middle-aged women who took part in focus groups. These discussions yield fascinating information about women's perceptions of female identity and sexuality in the fashion industry. An absorbing work, Fashion and Its Social Agendas stands out as a critical study of gender, fashion, and consumer culture. "Why do people dress the way they do? How does clothing contribute to a person's identity as a man or woman, as a white-collar professional or blue-collar worker, as a preppie, yuppie, or nerd? How is it that dress no longer denotes social class so much as lifestyle? . . . Intelligent and informative, [this] book proposes thoughtful answers to some of these questions."-Library Journal
Call Number: GT525 .C75 2000ISBN: 9780226117997Publication Date: 2001-09-01 -
The Pursuit of Style
by
Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Style is an all-new, original collection of clever, charming, and often hilarious musings from American fashion’s biggest designers. The book culls the best pieces of advice and insight from a survey conducted by the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) of its 400-plus members, including Diane von Furstenberg, Zac Posen, Betsey Johnson, Narciso Rodriguez, Donna Karan, and Ralph Lauren, among many others. From tips and tricks for breaking into a fashion career, to essential wardrobe items, to favorite words of wisdom, this book provides a glimpse inside the fashion world’s most creative minds and offers readers an endless amount of inspiration. Illustrated by Bil Donovan, this stylish package is the must-have fashion gift book of the season.
Call Number: TT505.A1 P87 2014ISBN: 9781419706219Publication Date: 2014-04-15 -
Food and Fashion
by
Food and Fashion accompanies a major exhibition at The Museum at FIT, New York's only museum dedicated solely to the art of fashion. This beautifully illustrated book featuring over 100 enticing full-color images, from fashion runways to fine art photography and period cookbooks, examines the influence of food culture through the lens of fashion over the last 250 years. It focuses on the ways that food culture has expressed itself in fashion and how these connect to broader socio-cultural change, examining how vital both have been in expressing cultural movements across centuries, and specifically exploring the role food plays in fashionable expression. With its superb selection of images, and thought-provoking and engaging discussion, Food and Fashion appeals to fashion enthusiasts who have an overlapping interest in food and food studies, including scholars and students, those who enjoy the fashion of food, and all who appreciate the visual culture of food, fashion, and art.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781350164345Publication Date: 2023-01-12 -
Fashion and Class
by
In what ways do changing notions of social class correspond with key developments in the history of fashion? Focusing on examples ranging from 18th-century Britain to aspects of the global fashion industry in the early 21st century, Fashion and Class examines the meaning and evolution of the term 'class', from its Marxist origins to modern day interpretations. Did industrialisation, technological change and developments in fashion retailing bring about a degree of 'class levelling' or in fact intensify class antagonism? And to what extent does modern mass consumption and cheap labour revive some of the ethical issues faced in 19th-century British textile factories? Exploring a variety of case studies that examine the changing relationships between fashion and class in different historical contexts, from the French revolutionaries of the 1780-90s through to the changing relationships between couture, designer and high-street fashion in the mid-20th century and onwards, Fashion and Class is essential reading for those wishing to understand the ways in which the fashion system is closely connected with ideas of class.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781847888150Publication Date: 2020-02-06
-
Clothing Through American History
by
Learn what men, women, and children have worn--and why--in American history, beginning with the classical styles worn in the early American republic through the hoop skirts and ready-made clothes worn before the Civil War. Authors Ann Buermann Wass and Michelle Webb Fandrich provide information on fabrics, materials, and manufacturing; a discussion of levels of society, daily life, and dress; and the types of clothes worn by men, women, and children, including American Indians and enslaved people. The authors have painstakingly researched such primary sources as diaries, letters, and wills of the people of the time, in addition to secondary resources. Just a few of the topics include: * The constant problems of getting fabrics, such as wool, or cotton, in the late eighteenth centuries * The types of clothes that slave men, women, and children were allowed to wear * The beginnings of patterns and the mass production of clothing in the mid nineteenth century. The volume features numerous illustrations, helpful timelines, resource guides recommending websites, videos, and print publications, and extensive glossaries.
Call Number: GT607 .W37 2010ISBN: 9780313335334Publication Date: 2010-02-10 -
Dress Codes
by
A "sharp and entertaining" (The Wall Street Journal) exploration of fashion through the ages that asks what our clothing reveals about ourselves and our society. Dress codes are as old as clothing itself. For centuries, clothing has been a wearable status symbol; fashion, a weapon in struggles for social change; and dress codes, a way to maintain political control. Merchants dressing like princes and butchers' wives wearing gem-encrusted crowns were public enemies in medieval societies structured by social hierarchy and defined by spectacle. In Tudor England, silk, velvet, and fur were reserved for the nobility, and ballooning pants called "trunk hose" could be considered a menace to good order. The Renaissance-era Florentine patriarch Cosimo de Medici captured the power of fashion and dress codes when he remarked, "One can make a gentleman from two yards of red cloth." Dress codes evolved along with the social and political ideals of the day, but they always reflected struggles for power and status. In the 1700s, South Carolina's "Negro Act" made it illegal for Black people to dress "above their condition." In the 1920s, the bobbed hair and form-fitting dresses worn by free-spirited flappers were banned in workplaces throughout the United States, and in the 1940s, the baggy zoot suits favored by Black and Latino men caused riots in cities from coast to coast. Even in today's more informal world, dress codes still determine what we wear, when we wear it--and what our clothing means. People lose their jobs for wearing braided hair, long fingernails, large earrings, beards, and tattoos or refusing to wear a suit and tie or make-up and high heels. In some cities, wearing sagging pants is a crime. And even when there are no written rules, implicit dress codes still influence opportunities and social mobility. Silicon Valley CEOs wear t-shirts and flip-flops, setting the tone for an entire industry: women wearing fashionable dresses or high heels face ridicule in the tech world, and some venture capitalists refuse to invest in any company run by someone wearing a suit. In Dress Codes, law professor and cultural critic Richard Thompson Ford presents a "deeply informative and entertaining" (The New York Times Book Review) history of the laws of fashion from the middle ages to the present day, a walk down history's red carpet to uncover and examine the canons, mores, and customs of clothing--rules that we often take for granted. After reading Dress Codes, you'll never think of fashion as superficial again--and getting dressed will never be the same.
Call Number: GT575 .F67 2021ISBN: 9781501180064Publication Date: 2021-02-09 -
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
by
From diapers to Dior, saris to serapes, the world of clothing is nearly as vast and as ancient as the human race. Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures, as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel, this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture. A new addition to the Scribner Daily Life series, which includes the best-selling Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, this broad-based encyclopedia surveys clothing and body adornment, and examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress. It also presents information on representative costumes from a wide variety of historical eras. Topics range from the bustle, sari, and toga to Polyester and body piercing. cocktail dress, bathing suit, burqua, Nehru jacket), techniques and manufactures (batik, dry cleaning, zipper, stone washing), body adornment (makeup, mask, tattoo, wig), and important persons and institutions (Coco Chanel, Edith Head, Yves Saint-Laurent, Fashion Institute of Technology). The longer essays provide cultural context: class, gender, sumptuary laws, costume design for stage and screen, advertising; fashion careers; ecclesiastical dress; military uniforms; etc. The Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion includes a comprehensive general index in the last volume, a timeline, and a topical outline. From the secondary school student writing a paper on dress among Native Americans to the university student interested in the underpinnings of clothing design, this set represents a unique and valuable source.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 0684313944Publication Date: 2004-09-22 -
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through American History, 1900 to the Present
by
Find out what we wore and why we wore it in The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing in American History-Twentieth Century to the Present. This fascinating reference set provides two levels of information: descriptions of styles of clothes that Americans have worn and, as important, why they wore those types of clothes. With volume one covering 1900-1949 and volume two covering 1950 to the present, the first half of each volume provides four chapters that each examine the impact that political and cultural events, arts and entertainment, daily life, and family structures have on fashion. The second half of each volume describes the important and everyday fashion and styles of the period, decade by decade, for women, men, and children. The set also includes helpful timelines; resource guides listing web sites, videos, and print publications; an extensive glossary; and illustrations. Fashion influences how we view other people and how we view ourselves. Find out what we wore and why we wore it in The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing in American History - Twentieth Century to the Present. This fascinating reference set provides descriptions of styles of clothes that men, women, and children have worn in the U.S. since 1900, and, as important, why they wore them. In addition to chapters describing fashion trends and types of clothes, this work examines the impact that cultural history has on fashion and how fashion may serve as an impetus for change in society. With volume one covering 1900-1949 and volume two covering 1950 to the present, the first half of each volume provides four chapters that examine the impact that political and cultural events, arts and entertainment, daily life, and family structures have on cultural life and fashion. The second half of each volume describes the important and everyday fashion and styles of the period, decade by decade, for women, men, and children. The set also includes helpful timelines; resource guides of web sites, videos, and print publications; an extensive glossary; and illustrations. Fashion is not for the exclusive use of the social elite and the rich, nor can it be simply dismissed as just showing off. We use fashion to express who we are and what we think, to project an image, to bolster our confidence, and to attract partners.
Call Number: GT615 .G74 2008ISBN: 9780313358555Publication Date: 2008-10-30
Web Resources
Magazines and journals available free on the internet. Just remember that free means there will be pop-up ads
-
Apparel MagazineFashion business and technology insights
-
Business of FashionCurrent and in depth analysis of events in the fashion world
-
Footwear NewsBusiness and fashion trends in the footwear industry
-
Sourcing JournalFashion from a business perspective
-
EditedInformation about how to use data to make wise business choices
-
Trend Tabletexplains how trend forecasting works and why it's important
We recommend using ArtStor for your images but there are also some good sources on the free web.
-
Victoria and Albert Museum- Fashion, Jewelry & Accessories Fashion from 1700 to the present
-
New York Public Library Digital Collections Images scanned from the collections and archives of NYPL
-
Art Images for College Teaching Royalty free images for educational use
-
Google Art Project Fine art images from museums around the world
-
Chicago History Museum- Online CollectionMore than 1300 digital images of costumes, accessories & fashion drawings
-
Metropolitan Museum of Art- costume InstituteSearch or browse more than 37,000 works from the museum's costume Institute
-
Victoria and Albert Museum- Fashion, Jewelry & AccessoriesFashion from 1700 to the present