Images
We recommend Jstor for your images but there are other places on the free web which you can look at.
Jstor- more than 1 million images plus detailed information on the works and their artists
- Digital Public Library Images a collection of millions of cultural heritage objects from libraries, archives, and museums across the country, for images.
- Google Art Project Fine art images from museums around the world
- The Louvre The Collections database consists of entries for more than 480,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix. Updated on a daily basis, it is the result of the continuous research and documentation efforts carried out by teams of experts from both museums.
- The Met More than 375,000 images from The Metropolitan Museum of Art
- New York Public Library Digital Collections Images scanned from the collections and archives of NYPL
- Victoria and Albert Museum images of fine and decorative arts from the V&A Museum, licensed for educational use.
- The Greats Free illustrations from great artists to change the world
Bergen Community College
400 Paramus Road
Paramus, NJ 07652
Visit a Museum
Check a prominent art museum's website to find out about and select a temporary exhibition to visit.
Plan your trip. Check for local library museum passes or student admission discounts.
Visit the gift shop and look a the catalog for the exhibition. This catalog will have lots of helpful, useful information for your paper.
Save your entry ticket or receipt. Print it out to attach it to your final paper.
Many public libraries offer passes to museums. Check with your town to see if you can get a pass to attend for free.
Your student ID card may also help with discounts for entry.
American Folk Art Museum- 2 Lincoln Square, New York, NY
Metropolitan Museum of Art- 1000 Fifth Ave., New York, NY
Museum of Modern Art- 11 W 53rd St, New York, NY 10019
New Museum of Contemporary Art- 235 Bowery, New York, NY 10002
The Frick Collection- 945 Madison Avenue at 75th Street, New York, NY 10019
The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum- 1071 Fifth Ave, New York, NY (Between 88th and 89th Streets)
Whitney Museum of American Art- 99 Gansevoort Street New York, NY 10014
This is by no means a comprehensive list. Please consult with your professor before making a museum choice.
Tools to help you decide which museum to visit-
- Museums USA
Search by zip code, city or state for smaller, local museums
- New York Museums
Find museums throughout the State of New York
- NYC Galleries & Museums
- The Official Museum Directory by American Association of Museums
Call Number: AM10.A2 O4
Publication Date: 2019
Artist Information
Many artists have their own websites. Use materials from your visit to find a web address or do a search on the free web to find your artist.
Find information about your chosen artist using biographical sources and newspapers-
- New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window(1980 - present) Full text database coverage through ProQuest. **
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to journal articles, images, books & primary sources in languages, art and literature.
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new windowSearch for biographies based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, gender, or other keywords.
- Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowFull Text access to approximately 500 contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including ethnic studies, women’s studies, sociology, cultural studies, and more.
Don't forget to take a selfie in front of your museum or artist exhibition!
Works Cited
Grimes, William. "Museum Rules for Selfie Age: Talk Softly, and Carry no Stick: [Metropolitan Desk]." New York Times, Feb 15, 2015. ProQuest, http://ezproxy.bergen.edu/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/museum-rules-selfie-age-talk-softly-carry-no/docview/1655161047/se-2.