LibGuides: Philosophy: Articles

Journal, Magazine & Newspaper Titles

To find out if the Library subscribes to a specific magazine, newspaper or journal, go to the Journals A-Z List.

STANCE: An International Undergraduate Philosophy Journal
Stance: An International Undergraduate Philosophy Journal is produced and edited entirely by undergraduate students. We aim to enrich student learning by providing an opportunity for undergraduate students to have their original work reviewed by or published in a peer-reviewed academic journal.

What is the difference between a magazine and a journal?

"Magazine" is often used to describe a popular publication like Time or People.

“Journal” is used to describe a scholarly work that is written by experts. Journal articles tend to be longer and provide extensive citations to additional research.

Subject Databases

Use a subject database to find articles in a special subject area such as philosophy.

Philosopher's Index
Includes aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of various disciplines.

General Databases

Library databases are the best sources of articles from magazines, newspapers and journals. On the Library home page, go to Databases A-Z and select one of the databases recommended for Philosophy to find articles on various phiolosophical topics. Lexis Nexis is best for newspaper articles. Search using keywords combined with "and", eg. Socrates and Virtue. Some of the databases do not always provide the whole article, but you can usually limit what you get to full text (complete) articles.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text database. This scholarly collection offers information in: Philosophy and many more. The majority of full text titles are available in PDF, or scanned-in-color.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Specialized encyclopedias on a range of topics. Great for detailed overviews of people, eras, places and other topics.
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Search for biographies based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, gender, or other keywords.

Off Campus Access

Your valid Bergen Community College user name and password allow you to use article databases, e-books or watch videos right on your computer, tablet or handheld device!