People to Research
- Musicians & Artists/Musiciens et ArtistesHere are people that you can research for your assignment.
Researching a Famous Person: Biography in Context Database
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Search this library database to learn about the person you have selected. If you have a particular person to research, enter the first and last name. Results will include encyclopedia entries, academic journals, magazines, newspapers, audio, images, and websites.
Example: claude monet
Note: capitalization does not matter. You can enter names with the first name first, last name second.
If you do not have a particular person to research, here is how to select a person from a particular country:
- Click on Advanced Search.
- Select "Person Search."
- Select the nationality from the list in the box.
- If you want, choose gender and birth year (you can choose a range of years).
More Library Databases
When you have a person's name to research, you can also search the Library's general databases:
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowThe largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
In addition to using the Advanced or Basic Search, you can also search by "Person":
- On the Advanced Search page, under More Options, click on "Look up People."
- Enter the person's name in the search box.
- Select the results that you want to add to the search. Then click "Search."
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowGeneral database good for all subject areas. Contains newspaper, magazine and scholarly journal articles.
- Click on "Advanced Search."
- Enter the person's name in the search box.
- Under "Select a Field" choose "PE People." Then click "Search."
Researching a Famous Person: Library Catalog
Find books and other items from the Library collection by searching the Library Catalog at http://www.bergen.edu/library
To find items about a particular person, search by SUBJECT, with the person's last name then first name:
Example: monet, claude
If you do not have a particular person to research, search by KEYWORD, using the country name and the word "biography":
Example: france and biography
Dictionary of World Biography by Call Number: CT104 .D54 1998ISBN: 0893563137Publication Date: 1998-06-01To find a person to research: In the Index volume, go to Geographical Area and search for the country you want. If you already know the person's name, look in the index under the last name.
Encyclopedia of World BiographyCall Number: CT103 .E56 1997ISBN: 0787622214Publication Date: 1997-12-02To find a person to research: In the Index volume, locate the country you want for a list of people from that country. If you already know the person's name, look in the index under the last name.
Researching a Famous Person: Library Databases
- World Geography and Culture Online This link opens in a new windowMaps and statistics for more than 280 nations, territories, regions, states, and provinces.
Find the country name in the pull-down list. Look at the section called "Famous People." Click on the name of the person you would like to research.
Search by country. Look in particular at the sections called "Culture" and "Cultural History" for names of famous people from that country.
Finding News Sources
- NexisUni This link opens in a new windowThis database has news and magazine articles from around the world.
In the search box, search for the name of the person you are researching.
e.g. gerard depardieu
Good Websites
- Paris Match: People A-ZBrowse the list for a celebrity, or search a name in the upper right corner of the website.
- YouTubeSearch for music, TV, and film clips.
- Les Victoires de la MusiqueFrance's equivalent of the Grammy Awards.