Skip to Main Content

Hotel and Restaurant Management: Articles

This research guide was specifically designed to focus on the hotel and restaurant industry. Each section offers a variety of information that correlates with the field of hospitality management.

What is the difference between a magazine and a journal?

"Magazine" is often used to describe a popular publication like Time or People.

“Journal” is used to describe a scholarly work that is written by experts.  Journal articles tend to be longer and provide extensive citations to additional research.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Online Search Strategies

Narrow/ Focus Your Search

Broaden/ Expand Your Search

And or Not connector between concepts

“Or” connector between synonyms

Field Limiters, e.g., dates, type of document

Truncation or Wildcard (e.g., child*)

Use the controlled vocabulary (human assigned main topics --Thesaurus)

Free-text or keyword searching (computer mediated, no human intervention)

Phrase or proximity searching, e.g.,  first year n3 retention

Hotel and Restaurant Management Databases

Use a subject database to find articles in a special subject area such as business. Go to the Full List of Databases and find the database alphabetically.

  • ABI/Inform Complete - Index and full text database. Business, management, and industry publications
  • Business Source Elite - Provides full text for 2,300 journals, including 1,100 peer-reviewed titles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily.
  • Wall Street Journal - The paper is considered the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide.
  • LexisNexis Academic - Click on the Companies tab on the side of the screen to find detailed financial information, legal information, intellectual property, news and more about a company​
  • ProQuest Research Library- Index and full text database. Scholarly and general interest publications.

 

  
 

Off Campus Access

Your valid Bergen Community College ID allows you to use article databases, e-books or watch videos right on your computer, tablet or handheld device!

Business Magazines and Hotel Management News

  • Hospitality Net Great resources on hotel management currents events, insightful tips, and academic programs.
  • Nation's Restaurant News This website gives insight on the most wide-ranging trends in the restaurant management industry.
  • American Hotel and Lodging Association The AH&LA provides a variety a resources for members and non-members within the industry.  
  • Forbes For corporate officers and other major executives in business interested in developing management insight through review of the nation's largest corporations.
  • Fortune  Gives top executives, and those working to reach senior positions in business information on the economic, political and social trends that affect the environment of business.
  • The Economist  A weekly newsmagazine of world politics and current affairs, business, finance and science published in London, England.
  • Entrepreneur  Articles, interviews, business profiles, financing, marketing, advertising and legislative news of note aimed at the small business owner or those planning to start a new or additional business.
  • Harvard Business Review  Written for upper level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.