LibGuides: Dental Hygiene Resources: DHY214: Nutrition Resources

Nutrition Journals & Newsletters

Nutrition Action Newsletter
High quality, authoritative newsletter about nutrition that reports on the latest nutrition studies and debunks myths about nutrition.
Tufts University Health & Nutrition Letter
High quality nutrition information and articles.
British Journal of Nutrition
Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition
Food Science & Nutrition
Nutrition and Dietary Supplements
Public Health Nutrition

Researching a Medical Condition

Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
Contains overviews and definitions for health-related topics, including: conditions and diseases, mental health, health and wellness, and body systems.

Medline Plus
Reliable health information from the National Library of Medicine.

Scholarly Articles about Nutrition & Oral Health

Nutrition Care Practices of Dietitians and Oral Health Professionals for Oral Health Conditions: A Scoping Review
This is a review of studies about nutrition care practices of oral health professionals.
General article about oral health and nutrition
From Disease-a-Month, October 2018 (via Science Direct database)
Oral manifestations of nutritional disorders
From Clinics in Dermatology, Sept/Oct 2017 (via Science Direct)
Practice Paper of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Abstract: Oral Health and Nutrition
From Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, June 2014 (via Science Direct)
Position of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics: Oral Health and Nutrition
From: Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics May 2013 (via Science Direct database)

Medical eBooks

STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Search for your topic across several high quality medical ebooks.

The merck manual of diagnosis and therapy [electronic resource] by Beers, Mark H.
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780911910186
Publication Date: 2011 (19th ed.)
Harrison's principles of internal medicine [electronic Resource] by Fauci, Anthony S., ed.
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780071641142
Publication Date: 2008
2015 Edition available in PRINT only. See list of Print Resources.
Goldman-Cecil Medicine by Lee Goldman; Andrew I. Schafer
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781455750177
Publication Date: 2015-04-27

Databases for Evidence-Based Nutrition Information

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
(1982 - present) Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Scholarly journals in nursing and allied health fields. Indexes over 1800 journals, mostly in English, and dissertations, books and audiovisual materials. Click on "CHOOSE DATABASES" link above search box. Check both CINAHL and ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER to expand search results.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free government database for all things medical.

Science Direct
Index and Full Text database. Covers 24 fields of science, medicine, technology and the social sciences including psychology.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Health and Medical Databases from ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of databases including full-text journals in consumer health, clinical medicine, biomedicine, healthcare administration, nursing, allied health, and psychology.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database. Includes scholarly and general interest journals in health, nutrition and medical topics.

PsycArticles
Full Text articles from American Psychological Association Journals.

Searching for Nutrition Topics

Searching Periodical Databases for Nutrition and Health topics

Start at the BCC Library Home Page. Click on CINAHL or Academic Search Premier from the “full list of databases” and click on “choose databases” link (above the search box.) Make sure that both CINAHL and ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER are checked. This will provide a broader search and will include many more relevant peer reviewed articles than in CINAHL alone. (Health, diet, nutrition, medical, hospital, journals will be included.) Database “facets” will allow you to narrow your results to “peer reviewed” or a specific journal title.

Enter your search. Here are some examples:

(nutrition or diet) and crohn's

(nutrition or diet) and pregnancy

(nutrition or diet) and “celiac disease”

(nutrition or diet) and (older or geriatric* or aged or gerontolog*)

The parentheses enclose terms connected with Boolean connectors AND or OR to create a single set of the terms enclosed.

The quotes (“”) enable searching for a phrase with the words in the same order.

Nutrition Web Sites

Nutrition Information

_____________________________________

Dietary Guidelines 2020-2025
From the US Department of Health and Human Services.
My Plate & Start Simple with My Plate app
Explore healthy eating styles with My Plate from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).
Get your My Plate Plan
Create a personalized nutrition plan based on age, sex, height, weight, and physical activity level.
Nutrition.gov
Nutrition information from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).
Nutrition Information from MedlinePlus
Nutrition resources compiled by the National Library of Medicine.
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
"Information about nutrition and health, from meal planning and prep to choices that can help prevent or manage health conditions and more"
The Nutrition Source: from Harvard School of Public Health
Helpful resource explaining the links between oral health and nutrition
Oral Health Topics from the ADA
Evidence-based reviews of oral health topics.
Dietary Reference Intakes (DRI) Calculator for Healthcare Professionals
Use this tool to calculate daily nutrient recommendations based on the Dietary Reference Intakes (DRIs) established by the Health and Medicine Division of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine.
Dietary Supplement Fact Sheets
From the National Institutes of Health, this site provides fact sheets about vitamins, minerals, herbs, and more.

Food Guidance Systems & Trackers

_________________________________________________

Cronometer
Track nutrition, fitness, and health data. Best for tracking vitamins and minerals. Has a free barcode scanner feature. Has data about added sugar in foods. Includes an option for pregnancy and breastfeeding. Free or paid subscription available.
Lose It
Best for tracking calories. Food and fitness tracker app. Has a helpful serving size guide. Create a free account.
My Fitness Pal
Free app to track food and fitness. Set calorie and nutrient goals. Scan barcodes to help you keep track (paid subscription only). Free and paid subscription available.
Spark People
Track nutrition and calories with a free account.
Paper-based Food Tracker from HHS
From the US Department of Health and Human Services, you can download this log and share it with a patient for tracking daily nutrition and fitness.
My Net Diary
Track food and calories with this free app. Paid subscriptions also available.
ShopWell
This free app is a helpful companion in the grocery store. Scan product barcodes for nutrition information. Paid subscription available.
MyPlate Calorie Tracker
Track calories and foods and view progress.
FitBit
Instructions for how to use your FitBit to track foods.
Healthy Eating Index (HEI)
From the USDA, the HEI is a measure of diet quality used to assess how well a set of foods aligns with key recommendations of the Dietary Guidelines for Americans.