Music Online is a Library Database that includes music tracks from American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound. This music listening library has over 200,000 tracks from which you can make playlists.
To access this database go to the Library homepage, click full list of databases, then scroll down to Music Online. You can also go directly to Music Online here.
Creating playlists (selections of media, images, text, or sound grouped together) in Music Online can be a useful addition to your Moodle Course. You can create a playlist and link to it from your course. The Music Online Database has easy to follow steps for creating and sharing your playlists.
1. To create playlists you must first create an account. Click the Sign In link on the Database's homepage. Then click the register link to start creating your account.
2. Use the search box for specific items or click on the Browse link to find audio recordings, video, scores, and music reference material.
3. When you find an item you would like to add to your playlist click the blue and white plus sign next to the item. See screenshot below.
4. The database will then walk you through the steps and options for adding the item to a playlist. It will prompt you to add to an existing playlist or to create a new one. If you choose to create a new playlist you can choose who sees the playlist: you can define that only your class sees it, all of Bergen Community College users, or everyone who uses the database.
5. Now that you have created a playlist you can link to it in your Moodle course. When you are logged in to Music Online. There will be a My Playlists link at the top of the page. Click here to see all of your playlists. See screenshot below.
6. Select the playlist that you wish to share from the list by clicking on the title.
7. To create the link click on the small globe at the top of the page. When you hover over it, it should say "Share this playlist." See screenshot below.
8. When you click on it a pop up box will appear. Click the box "Copy Link" to copy the link to your playlist.
9.Log into Moodle and paste the link as you would any other weblink in your course.